Jonathan Biss

Jonathan Biss
Performance Date: Fri, February 17th 12 Directions Tickets
Doors Open: 8:00 pm
Ticket Price: $75 | $55 | $25
Venue Name: MCASD Sherwood Auditorium

BEETHOVEN Piano Sonata in C Minor, Opus 10, No. 1
 Allegro molto e con brio
 Adagio molto
 Finale: Prestissimo
JANÁČEK In the Mists
 Molto adagio
CHOPIN Nocturne in E Major, Opus 62, No. 2
Polonaise-Fantaisie in A-flat Major, Opus 61
JANÁČEK Sonata: 1. X. 1905, From the Streets
 Con moto
BEETHOVEN Piano Sonata in E-flat Major, Opus 81a, "Les Adieux"
 Das Lebewohl: Adagio; Allegro
 Abwesenheit: Andante espressivo
 Das Wiedersehen: Vivacissimamente

Prelude 7:00pm

Lecture by Steven Cassedy Janáček, From Politics to Impressionism

The stormy personal and political life of Leoš Janáček included the composer’s involvement in anti-government activities in the Czech region of the Austro-Hungarian Empire. Sonata 1. X. 1905, From the Street was written in response to the death of a Czech protester at a demonstration in Brno. Janáček also wrote music that was decidedly apolitical, such as his In the Mists (1912), an almost impressionistic composition. Steven Cassedy will discuss the various sides of the Czech composer’s musical personality.


Artist Bio Program Notes
< Prev   Next >